Enslaved: Odyssey to West thoughts.

So I picked up quite an overlooked new release this week title Enslaved: Odyssey to the West.

Now, I must I admit I wasn’t interested in this game, and I did not enjoy Ninja Theory’s last game Heavenly Sword. Then, I downloaded the demo. By the time I finished the demo I was left floored and speechless. Ninja Theory have made a remarkable game! Well, at least a demo.

I’m only about six chapters into the game so far, and I’m loving the hell out of it. Everything about the game so far is fantastic. Great music, gorgeous graphics, fantastic motion capture acting, and great story telling so far. The game’s story is a bit vague right now. You really don’t know who the two main characters are yet as people , or their true motives but the deeper you get, the more you learn through beautiful cutscenes, great dialogue, and terrific voice acting.

This may well be one of the best multiplatform games of 2010 thus far. Though the only gripe with the game so far is that it isn’t exactly original. It rips off heavily from the superior Uncharted franchise. And I mean RIPS OFF. Similar platforming mechanics, camera angles, similar action moments, etc. But yet, there is enough in this game to make it so much more different. A lush yet apocolypitc world overrun by robots, more empahsis on close quarters combat (which is phenominal by the way), different characters, a LOT of variety and mature storytelling.

I don’t know what the rest of this game has in store for me but so far it was definitely worth the purchase. If you have a PS3 or Xbox 360, I highly suggest you download this demo the second you finish reading this and experience it for yourself. You may have yourself thinking “Damn, I might buy this.”

Leave a Reply

