Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows Part 1 Review

The beginning of the end is finally here. The much anticipated first part of The Deathly Hallows is finally here and does it live up to expectations? No it doesn’t. Why? Because all of the good stuff is saved for part 2! It’s still a great film with beautiful cinematography, dark story, some truly fantastic acting from the lead stars (my favorite being Rupert Grint as Ron Weasly) but it feels like a small piece of something much bigger and in that sense the film disappoints.

harry_potter_and_the_deathly_hallows_part_1_poster_2

In this final installment Harry and the gang(You know who they are!) are looking for the rest of the remaining horcruxes so they can finally kill Voldemort and stop him from being essentially immortal. Unfortunately for them Voldemort has other things up his sleeves. Like the “Deathly Hallows” that will help Voldemort become nearly invincible, kill Harry Potter, and make the muggle world submit to his power. Hmm, sounds cheesy when you hear it all at once, but it works incredibly well in the films horror environment. Yes, I said horror. Gone is the child like fantasy in the earlier films. There is no more Hogwarts, there is no more safety, this film is dark. I love it. Keep the kids at home!

I’ve only read about 70 percent of the book or so. I never got to finish because I got caught up in other things and forgot about it. I decided I’d just “wait for the movie.” This was years ago when the book first came out. Watching this film, all of my memories of the book came flowing back into to me and this is easily the most faithful adaption of the Harry Potter series since the original film.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part I

It’s a great film that ends way too fast(I never thought it dragged). It feels only like a prelude of what’s yet to come and doesn’t really work as a stand alone film despite being a whopping 2 hours and 30 minutes. The film spends all of it’s time setting up. We rarely see characters besides Harry, Ron and Hermione. We never see much of the supporting cast. Hopefully we get to see more in part 2. Yes, I’m looking at you Severus Snape!

The Deathly Hallows was originally suppose to be one film but was split into two. Its seems like a smart and stupid decision. Smart as in, not many people are going to sit through almost a 5 hour film, and they can make double the money. But stupid because all we’re getting in this movie is the first introductory act and half of the second act. I’m officially dying to see the rest of this movie! I essentially paid for a sneak preview for the real climax of the story. But that’s not neccesarily a bad thing. I’m sure this film viewed with parts 1 and 2 together would end up being an amazing fulfilling experience.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1

Don’t let my nitpicking bring you down. It’s a fantastic film. It’s gorgeous to look at, has some fantastic set pieces, good story, sublime acting, smart directing (Director Kevin Yates is great with the action scenes) and some sick camera work. Some of the camera work here is truly impressive. But the fact that this is only half a movie, with no real conclusion is what brings it down. It really is only half a movie.

I can’t say it’s the best in the series because I haven’t seen part 2. But if Deathly Hallows part 1 is indeed considered a stand alone piece in the series I don’t think it’s in the top 3. Prisoner of Azkaban and Half Blood Prince remain my favorites in the series. It’s better than the first two films and Order of the Phoenix but Goblet of Fire is better. I’m sure you guys can do the math. Now after part 2 and I watch it combined with the first part 1 it’s looking that it will indeed be the best in the series and one of the most epic movies ever.

Overall 7.5/10

Leave a Reply

