True Gritt Mini Review

true_grit_poster

So I saw True Gritt on release day, but with the holidays and new years I had no time to write a review on it. I decided to keep it short and test out a mini review.

An old west tale of revenge that stars Jeff Bridges, Matt Damon, Josh Brolin and newcomer Hailee Steinfield. The young girl Mattie(Steinfield) plans revenge against the killer of her father and hires Rooster Cogburn (Bridges) to bring the murderer to justice.

Overall I really enjoyed this film. It’s filled with top notch performances from it’s lead cast and is filled with action and quite a bit of humor. The cinematography is gorgeous and really captures the look of the old west. Along with top notch direction from the great Coen Brothers, they deliver a very solid film.  Let’s not forget they give us great script with some sharp dialogue. Though not quite their best work, its a solid picture.

I don’t have much gripes about it other than that I was surprised by what a small role Josh Brolin had and also I felt some of the humor seemed out of place in this type of film. I was expecting a serious Coen bros. film rather than a comedic one. But instead I got both. A lot of the humor was hilarious, though there may be one or two moments that felt out of place. But it was far from detrimental to the overall piece. Jeff Bridges was fantastic in this film and really came across as a genuinely interesting and funny character. One of my favorite roles of Jeff Bridges, definitely.

Highly recommended if you’re fan of the old west,  and the original book which I hear this film is a solid adaption of the source material. More so than the film released in 1969.

Overall 8/10

So what do you guys think? Do you prefer short and concise reviews or more in-depth reviews? Shoot off in the comments and let me know.

Leave a Reply

