Dragonball Z: Battle of Gods Speculation

battle-of-gods

I must admit, I am pretty huge Dragonball fan on just about all facets of the franchise. It’s funny, exciting, weird, action packed and never takes itself too seriously. It’s not deep by any means but it’s easily one of the best shonen mangas and animes of all time and has a lot of influences on a lot of other popular franchises. Ever since the show ended I fantasized about a movie series that would take place during the 10 year gap after the defeat of Buu before the final chapter. I literally had so many ideas fully realized in my head. Well, over a decade later my wish has finally been fulfilled! We are getting a theatrical DBZ feature for the first time in 17 years!

Now all DBZ fans know all of this already and the synopsis of the film. Nothing new here but from what we’ve seen a lot of questions have been raised within me. First, I can’t get over the fact that Akira Toriyama is actually involved apparently with a lot of the designs and early script writing process. This is technically may be the very first canonical theatrical DBZ movie…ever. But if it’s truly canon and Toriyama considers it so still has yet to be seen.

Second, there are a lot of rumors surrounding that Super Saiyan 3 Vegeta will make an appearance as well as Super Saiyan 3 Gogeta. Holy (insert curse word here). Vegeta has always been a favorite and to see him reach Super Saiyan 3 would be amazing to see. I know he made an appearance in one of those Raging Blast video games but that’s more of a “what if” type of thing. To see him actually go Super Saiyan 3 would be a sight to behold and should please Vegeta fans everywhere. About time he gets the recognition he deserves in a film! But how will he achieve it? Has he been training since Buu? Is he going to ascend to it on the spot out of pure rage? If so, what caused it? Either way if he goes SS3 in this movie than he technically achieved it at a much faster rate than Goku ever did. Let’s hope it happens!

Hmm...is this BS or not?

Hmm…is this BS or not?

As for Super Saiyan 3 Gogeta, I’m more skeptical. Movie 12 where Gogeta first appears is easily in my top 5 DBZ movies but it isn’t canonical.  There is physically no way movie 12 had anytime to happen during the Buu saga. None of it adds up. So Vegeta and Goku have never truly fused using the fusion technique. So are we going to see Goku try to talk and teach Vegeta into doing the fusion technique again? Or will they just play it off like Vegeta already knows how to do the technique? We will see. Personally I think Super Saiyan 3 Gogeta showing up is just BS fan speculation and the image is a fake. But I hope I’m wrong cause Gogeta is the epitome of badass.

Then there’s Gohan going Super Saiyan! This one seems to be causing the most debate.  Is Gohan still capable of going mystic? is him going SS on top of his mystic powers? or below it? Is he still the strongest non-fused character? I hope this is cleared up when the movie releases.

WillsBillsBattleOfGods

Then there’s the villains. Though I’m excited, I must admit these guys look flat out disappointing. Named Bill and Wiss they are both Gods and the villains of the film. They don’t look all that cool or interesting but I’m assuming they’ll transform into something much more formidable looking later in the film. That always happens in DBZ at this point and I welcome it. Transformations  are one of the reasons that made DBZ cool. Seeing the next form of a character was always exciting for me.

That’s most of the questions that have arrived to me from the images and trailers I’ve seen. The movie releases in Japan on March 30th, 2013 so we may get our answers then. Unfortunately I wont be able to see the movie until it hits stateside and if the Toei and 20th century fox know what they’re doing they better release it stateside in the same year. Also if they’re even smarter they’ll try to get a small movie theater distribution going on. I would love to see a DBZ film on the big screen.

trailer

So many questions, but answers soon! What do you think of the upcoming DBZ film and my speculation? Excited? Think it will suck? Have any speculation that I missed?

Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

